التاريخ المرئي

تاريخ مرئي للسودان ومغرات

جمهورية السودان

في الفترة ما بين العام 1956م(1377هـ) حتى الآن.

Friendship Hall, Khartoum (photo: internet)

في اليوم الأول من شهر يناير 1956م(1377هـ) أصبح السودان دولة مستقلة ، حيث كان الزعيم إسماعيل الأزهري أول رئيس للوزراء. ومنذ العام 1989 (1410 هـ) تقلد عمر حسن أحمد البشير رئاسة البلاد. في عام 2011 (1432 هـ) أصبحت جمهورية السودان وجمهورية جنوب السودان دولتين منفصلتين..

Colourfully designed entrance to a house compound on Mograt (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

عادة ، لا يقوم علم الآثار بدراسة الحاضر والإستقصاء عنه. لكننا نريد أن نتعرف على كيفية استخدام بقايا العصور الماضية والتعامل معها من قبل مجتمع اليوم ، وماهي أفكارهم حولها وكيف يستخدمونها في حياتهم اليومية. كما نريد أيضًا مناقشة دور التراث في تنمية الحاضر والمساعدة في تقديمه وحمايته بالطرق الأمثل.

الحكم الثنائي – الإنجليزي- المصري:

1899 - 1956م (1320 - 1377هـ)

Railway station, Abu Hamed (photo: Gareth Rees)

تشاركت الإمبراطورية البريطانية ومصر رسمياً حكم السودان. على أن يكون السودان على واقع الأرض مستعمرة بريطانية.

Tower in an old house compound on Kindi Island at the eastern tip of Mograt (photo: Mathias Lange)

نريد تتبع تاريخ هذه الفترة ومخلفاتها من خلال الأبنية، وسنعتمد في ذلك على معرفة شعب مقرات. نحن نزور وندرس القرى القديمة ونلتقي بأحفاد السكان السابقين ، من أجل معرفة كيف عاش الناس وعملوا في الجزيرة خلال تلك الفترة.

الثورة المهدية:

1881- 1898م(1302 – 1319هـ)

Tomb of the Mahdi, Omdurman (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

ثار محمد أحمد بن عبد الله ، الملقب بالمهدي ، ضد الحكم الثنائي الإنجليزي المصري الذي هيمن على السودان في تلك الفترة. وتعتبر ثورته أول ثورة ناجحة لبلد أفريقي ضد القوات المستعمرة ، وقد كان حصيلتها قيام دولة مستقلة، دولة الخلافة في أمدرمان.

Fortress near al-Karmal, possibly reused in the Mahdiya (photo: Claudia Näser)

ماهو الدور الذي لعبته مقرات وشعبها خلال المهدية؟ ماذا تبقي من آثار هذه الفترة على الجزيرة؟ نأمل أن نتعرف على تاريخ هذه الفترة ومخلفاتها المادية من شعب مقرات.

الفترة الإسلامية

قبل حوالي 500عام مضت وحتى العام 1881م(1302هـ)

Medieval Throne Hall, converted into a mosque, Old Dongola (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

انتشر الإسلام تدريجيا في المنطقة. حيث دمرت آخر عاصمة مسيحية (سوبا) والتي تقع الي الجنوب من مدينة الخرطوم الحالية ، قبل حوالي 500 عام. كانت سلطنة الفونج وعاصمتها سنار هي المسيطر على وادي النيل الأوسط. قبل حوالي 200 سنة ، وفي عام 1821 (1236 هـ) ، غزا الوالي العثماني في مصر بلاد السودان.

Fortress at al-Hilla, possibly dating from Early Islamic times (photo: Annett Dittrich)

نعتقد أن العديد من القلاع الموجودة في مقرات قد استمر استخدامها في ذلك الوقت ؛ لكن من الصعب العثور على أدلة تثبت ذلك. ولذلك نحن نحاول تتبع تاريخ هذه الفترة وبقاياها من خلال ما يعرفة سكان مقرات.

فترة العصور المسيحية الوسيطة

قبل حوالي 1450 الى 500 سنة

Church of the Granite Columns, Old Dongola (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

أدخل المبشرين البيزنطيين المسيحية إلى وادي النيل الأوسط. فأزدهرت ثلاث ممالك مسيحية، وهي نوباطيا وعاصمتها فرس في النوبة السفلى ، المقرة وعاصمتها دنقلا العجوز الى الجنوب وعلوة وعاصمتها سوبا بالقرب من مدينة الخرطوم الحالية.

Medieval cemetery near the fortress of Kurta (photo: Annett Dittrich)

إنه لمن المحتمل أن شعب مقرات قد أعتنق الديانة المسيحة قرابة ثمانمئة عام. لأن تاريخ العديد من القلاع الموجودة في هذه الجزيرة يعود الى تلك الفترة، وعلى سبيل المثال تلك الموجودة في رأس الجزيرة، المقل والكرمل. لقد قمنا بتنقيب كنيسة داخل حصن (قلعة) رأس الجزيرة. تم دفن الناس في هذه الفترة في قبور مستطيلة الشكل وبسيطة ، وفي بعض الأحيان في مقابر كبيرة ، والتي غالبا ما نجدها بالقرب من القرى الحالية.

فترة ما بعد مروي

قبل حوالي 1650 الى 1450 سنة

Burial mounds at Zuma, downstream of Jebel Barkal (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

في هذا العصر ، تم تقسيم السلطة السياسية في وادي النيل الأوسط إلى عدة وحدات أصغر حسب المراكز المحلية. فسقطت مدينة مروي الملكية واستبدلت طريقة الدفن المتبعة فيها. كما توقفت العديد من التقاليد والممارسات المروية ، بما في ذلك الكتابة وبناء المعابد الضخمة. ومن الملاحظ أن تلال الدفن التي تعود لفترة ما بعد مروي تنتشر في المنطقة وغالباً ما كانت تتخذ أشكالاً ضخمة.

Post-Meroitic cemetery on Mograt Island (photo: Mathias Lange)

بنى شعب هذه الفترة أيضاً مقابرهم الضخمة في مقرات. إذ تشغل جبانات ما بعد مروي مساحات واسعة من الجزيرة، على سبيل المثال على الهضبة التي تقع بالقرب من المقعل. ولكن يمكن العثور على أدلة من هذا العصر في أماكن أخرى كثيرة في الجزيرة. كما بنى الناس قلاعًا بسيطة ، مثل تلك الموجودة في المكيسر، والتي كانت لهم ملاذاً في الأوقات الغير مستقرة سياسياً.

مملكة كوش، الفترة المروية.

قبل حوالي 2300 - 1650 سنة

Royal pyramids at Meroe (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

في هذه الفترة ، إنصب الإهتمام السياسي والديني على العاصمة في مروي . والتي تقع الى الشمال من شندي الحالية. انتقلت المدافن الملكية إلى هناك من مراكز القوى القديمة بالقرب من جبل البركل. ازدهرت الفنون والحرف. ادخلت الساقية كوسيلة للري، بالرغم من عدم إنتشار ستخدامها الا في فترة ما بعد مروي. تم تطوير الكتابة المرَّوية ، وانتهى استخدام الكتابة المصرية (الكتابة الهيروغليفية).

Evidence for the Meroitic period is still to be found ... (photo: Christiane Dorstewitz)

على الرغم من حقيقة أن مقرات كانت مأهولة بالسكان خلال العصر المروي ، إلا أننا حتى الآن لم نستطع تحديد أي موقع يعود الى ذلك العصر على الجزيرة. من المحتمل أن بعض المقابر ذات التلال الكبيرة تعود إلى تلك الفترة ، لكننا لم نعثر حتى الآن على أي فخار مروي أو غيره من الأدوات التقليدية المميزة.

مملكة كوش، فترة نبتة.

قبل حوالي 2800 – 2300 سنة

Royal pyramids at Nuri (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

وصل حكام محليون إلى السلطة وحكموا حتى مصر ويطلق عليهم أسم الأسرة الخامسة والعشرون (25) والتي حكمت قبل (حوالي 2691-2666 سنة مضت). وقد أطلق عليهم إسم الحكام الكوشيون ، حيث ان إسم كوش هو الاسم المصري لمنطقة النيل الأوسط. بنى الملوك الكوشيون الأهرامات لهم ولعائلاتهم. تقع مقابرهم في منطقتي الكرو ونوري بالقرب من جبل البركل. لذلك يسمى ذلك العصر أيضا الفترة النبتية.

Napatan burial excavated near al-Karmal (photo: Claudia Näser)

اننا لا نعرف عن هذه الفترة في جزيرة مقرات الا مقابرها فقط. وغالباً ما تقع مقابرها بالقرب من مقابر كرمة الأقدم منها تاريخاً، ولكنها أصغر منها حجماً ، وأقل عدداً. من أجل بناء مقابرهم ، استخدم النبتيون الصخور الطبيعية الثابتة في كثير من الأحيان كجزء من البناء الفوقي لقبورهم ومن ثم يرصون عليها الأحجار. وقد اجتذبت العديد من هذه المقابر انتباه ناهبي القبور في الآونة الأخيرة ، على الرغم من حقيقة أنها لا تحتوي على كثير من الأدوات القيمة.

الحكم المصري

قبل حوالي 3500 – 3070 سنة

Egyptian Temple at Jebel Barkal (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

احتل المصريون وادي النيل الأوسط حتى منطقة مقرات - تاركين العديد من النقوش الحدودية الشهيرة بالقرب من حجر المروة . كما دمروا العاصمة المحلية القديمة وهي مدينة كرمة، وأسسوا مستوطنات ومراكز عبادة و بنوا معابد مصرية جديدة.أحد هذه المعابد كان في جبل البركل وهو مخصص لعبادة الإله المصري آمون.

Hajar al-Marwa (photo: Claudia Näser)

على الرغم من العثور على نقوش الحدود المصرية في حجر المروة ، الذي يبعد حوالي 20 كم عكس التيار من جزيرة مقرات على الضفة الشرقية للنيل ، الا أنه لم يتم العثور على دليل يعضد الوجود المصري على الجزيرة نفسها حتى الآن.

فترة كرمة

قبل حوالي 4500 – 3500 سنة

Deffufa at Kerma (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

ثقافة كرمة المعروفة باسم "الحضارة الأفريقية الأولى" جنوب مصر، تشتهر ثقافة كرمة بنظامها الدفاعي حول العاصمة، القصور، ومبنى الدفوفة الغامض والمقبرة الملكية في كرمة ثقع فوق الشلال الثالث. تم التعرف على مستعمرات صغيرة ومقابر تعود الى فترة كرمة على طول إمتداد منطقة النيل الأوسط.

قبل حوالي 4000 الى 3750 سنة، غزا المصريون النوبة السفلى بوادي النيل حتى الشلال الثاني. وقاموا ببناء سلسلة من الحصون، الا انهم اضطروا إلى المغادرة في وقت لاحق بسبب الإضطرابات التي كانت تعيشها بلادهم.

Kerma grave in a cemetery near al-Karmal (photo: Reinhold Schulz)

في مقرات ، بنى سكان كرمة قبورهم على الهضاب والتلال المطلة على الأراضي الصالحة للزراعة بالقرب من النهر. ويمكن ملاحظة علامات دفنهم المميزة ، والتي يتمثل معظمها في شكل ركام من الأحجار الصغيرة أو اكوام دائرية الشكل من الحجارة المرصوصة ، في كل مكان في الجزيرة حتى اليوم. وفي هذا دليل يخبرنا بأن سكان كرمة قد عاشوا في مقرات ، على الرغم من أننا لم نعثر على أي مستوطنات تعود الى هذه الفترة حتى الآن.

قمنا بتنقيب مقبرة كبيرة تعود الى فترة كرمة بالقرب من قرية الكرمل. العديد من المقابر لا تزال سليمة – ومايميزها انها احادية المدفن اي تحتوي على شخص واحد، ولكنها تحتوي على عدد قليل من الأثاث الجنائزي. وغالباً ما يتغلغل الفخار داخل ركام الأحجار أو الحلقات الحجرية.

العصر الحجري الحديث( النيوليثيك)

قبل حوالي 7000 – 4500 سنة

Neolithic grave, Kadaru (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

تتميز أحدث مراحل العصر الحجري بالانتقال إلى الزراعة وتربية الحيوانات. حيث زرع الناس المحاصيل وقاموا بتربية الأغنام والماعز والماشية. وعاشوا في قرى صغيرة ودفنوا موتاهم - في بعض الأحيان في مقابر غنية بأثاثها الجنائزي – كما ان مقابرهم غالباً ما تقع في أماكن بعيدة عن المستوطنات السكنية.

Neolithic potsherd from a site on Mograt (photo: Annett Dittrich)

مواقع العصر الحجرى الحديث منتشرة في مقرات. إذ يمكن تمييزها من خلال خصائص فخارها. تقع معظم هذه المواقع في المناطق الداخلية للجزيرة. لقد وجدنا أماكن عيش إنسان تلك الفترة ، وأماكن تجهيز طعامهم ، وأدوات جاهزة ، وأماكن حصولهم على المواد الخام. ولكننا حتى الآن حددنا مقبرة واحدة فقط تعود الى هذه الفترة ، وقد كان ذلك عن طريق الصدفة – إذ كانت تقع على موقع مقبرة تعود الى فترة كرمة التي تليها.

العصر الحجري الوسيط (الميسوليثيك)

قبل حوالي 9000 – 7000 سنة

Mesolithic pottery (photo: Mathias Lange)

عاش الناس في هذا العصر معتمدين على الصيد والجمع. وقد استطاعوا استغلال الموارد الطبيعية بصورة جيدة للغاية، وبدأوا في الإستقرار في مكان واحد في جزء من السنة على أقل تقدير. دفنوا موتاهم في مستوطناتهم. وقبورهم تعد أولى المقابر المعروفة في منطقة وادي النيل. كما ان التغيير المهم الآخر الذي حدث خلال هذه الفترة كان اختراع الفخار.

Shells and stone tools found at a site near al-Karmal (photo: Claudia Näser)

لقد تمكنا من تحديد عدة أماكن في مقرات عاشت أو عملت فيها مجتمعات العصر الحجري الوسيط. في حين أن بعض هذه المواقع يقع في الجزء الداخلي للجزيرة ، إلا أن بعضها الآخر يقع في مواقع أقرب إلى النهر. حتى الآن ، لم يتم اكتشاف أي مدافن تعود الى هذا العصر في جزيرة مقرات.

العصر الحجري القديم (الباليوليثيك)

قبل حوالي1,500,000 – 9,000 سنة

Palaeolithic stone ‘core’ from which tools were produced (photo: Mathias Lange)

تعتبر هذه الفترة أقدم مراحل تاريخ البشرية. عاش. البشر الأوائل - في مجموعات صغيرة وتنقلوا في مجموعات وهم يبحثون عن طعامهم هنا وهناك. ولقد تمكنوا من صناعة أدوات من الحجر ،العظام وربما الخشب.

Excavation of a Palaeolithic site near al-Karmal with stone tools visible in the trench (photo: Mathias Lange)

تعود أقدم الاكتشافات في مقرات إلى ما بعد 250,000 سنة. وهي أدوات حجرية ، لا تزال ملقاة في الأماكن التي صنعت أو استخدمت فيها من قبل البشر الأوائل ، ويمكن العثور عليها بشكل ملحوظ في العديد من المواقع التي تقع في المناطق الصحراوية داخل الجزيرة.

VisualHistoryTitle_MogratRed

Republic of the Sudan

ink horizontal line

From 1956 (1377 AH) to Today

Friendship Hall, Khartoum (photo: internet)

On 1 January 1956 Sudan became an independent state, with Ismail al-Azhari being its first Prime Minister. Since 1989 (1410 AH) Omar Hassan Ahmed al-Bashir has been President. In 2011 (1432 AH) the Republic of the Sudan and the Republic of South Sudan became two separate states.


Colourfully designed entrance to a house compound on Mograt (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

Usually, archaeology does not investigate the present. But we want to learn about how the remains of past eras are used today, what people think about them and how they make use of them in their daily lives. We also want to discuss the role of heritage in the present and help to present and protect it in a meaningful way.


Anglo-Egyptian rule

ink horizontal line

1899-1956 (1320-1377 AH)


Railway station, Abu Hamed (photo: Gareth Rees)

The British Empire and Egypt formally shared the governance of Sudan. On the ground, Sudan was a British colony.


Tower in an old house compound on Kindi Island at the eastern tip of Mograt (photo: Mathias Lange)

We want to trace the history of this period and its remains by building on the knowledge of the people of Mograt. We visit and study old villages with the descendants of former inhabitants, in order to learn how the people lived and worked on the island during this time.


Mahdiya

ink horizontal line

1881–1898 (1302–1319 AH)


Tomb of the Mahdi, Omdurman (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

Mohamed Ahmed Ibn Abdallah, called the Mahdi, rose against the Egyptians and the British who had come to dominate Sudan. This is considered the first successful uprising of an African country against the colonial forces, leading to the foundation of an independent state, the Caliphate of Omdurman.


Fortress near al-Karmal, possibly reused in the Mahdiya (photo: Claudia Näser)

What role did Mograt and its people play during the Mahdiya? What remains from this time on the island? We hope to learn about the history of this era and its material remains from the people of Mograt.


Islamic period

ink horizontal line

About 500 years ago until 1881 (1302 AH)


Medieval Throne Hall, converted into a mosque, Old Dongola (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

Islam gradually spread into the region. The last Christian capital, Soba, south of present-day Khartoum, was destroyed about 500 years ago. The Funj sultanate of Sennar controlled the Middle Nile Valley. About 200 years ago, in 1821 (1236 AH), the Ottoman viceroys of Egypt conquered Sudan.


Fortress at al-Hilla, possibly dating from Early Islamic times (photo: Annett Dittrich)

We think that several of the fortresses on Mograt continued to be used in this time; but it is hard to find evidence to prove this. We are also trying to trace the history of this period and its remains from the knowledge of the people of Mograt.


Medieval Christian Period

ink horizontal line

About 1450–500 years ago


Church of the Granite Columns, Old Dongola (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

Missionaries from Byzantium introduced Christianity to the Middle Nile Valley. Three Christian Kingdoms developed, namely Nobadia with its capital Faras in Lower Nubia, Makuria with its capital Old Dongola further south and Alwa with its capital Soba close to modern Khartoum.


Medieval cemetery near the fortress of Kurta (photo: Annett Dittrich)

For probably something like 800 years the people of Mograt were Christians. Several fortresses on the island date from this era, e.g. the ones in Ras al-Jazira, Maqall and al-Karmal. We have excavated a church within the fortress of Ras al-Jazira. The people of this period were buried in simple rectangular graves, sometimes in large cemeteries, which are often found close to present-day villages.


Post-Meroitic Period

ink horizontal line

About 1650–1450 years ago


Burial mounds at Zuma, downstream of Jebel Barkal (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

In this era, political power in the Middle Nile Valley was split into several smaller units with local centres. The royal cemetery and city of Meroe fell into disuse. Many of the Meroitic traditions stopped, including writing and building monumental temples. But the burial mounds of this period which dot the region often took monumental forms.


Post-Meroitic cemetery on Mograt Island (photo: Mathias Lange)

People of this period also built their monumental tombs on Mograt. Post-Meroitic cemeteries occupy large areas, for example on the plateau above Maqall. But evidence from this era can also be found in many other places on the island. The people built simple fortresses, such as the one in Mikaisir, which offered them a retreat in these politically unstable times.


Kingdom of Kush, Meroitic Period

ink horizontal line

About 2300 – 1650 years ago


Royal pyramids at Meroe (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

In this period, the political and religious focus was on the capital in Meroe, north of present-day Shendi. The royal cemetery moved there from the older power centres near Jebel Barkal. Arts and crafts flourished. The saqia was intro­duced, though it only became common in post-Meroitic times. The Meroitic script was developed, and the use of Egyptian writing (hieroglyphs) ended.


A trowel (photo: Christiane Dorstewitz)

Despite the fact that Mograt was certainly populated during Meroitic times, we cannot yet identify any sites of this era on the island. Possibly some of the cemeteries with big mounds date from this period but so far we have not found any Meroitic pottery or other typical grave goods.


Kingdom of Kush, Napatan Period

ink horizontal line

About 2800 – 2300 years ago


Royal pyramids at Nuri (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

Local rulers came to power and even ruled over Egypt as the 25th dynasty (about 2691–2664 years ago). These rulers were called Kushites, Kush being the Egyptian name for the Middle Nile region. The Kushite kings built pyramids for them­selves and their family members. Their cemeteries are at Kurru and Nuri near Jebel Barkal; therefore the era is also called the Napatan period.


Napatan burial excavated near al-Karmal (photo: Claudia Näser)

We only know about the cemeteries of this period on Mograt. They are often located close to older Kerma burial grounds, but they are smaller, with fewer graves. For the construction of their tombs the Napatan people often made use of natural rocks next to which they built their superstructures of heaped stones. Many of these tombs have attracted the attention of grave robbers in recent time, despite the fact that they do not contain much in terms of grave goods.


Egyptian rule

ink horizontal line

About 3500 – 3070 years ago


Egyptian Temple at Jebel Barkal (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

The Egyptians conquered the Middle Nile Valley up to the area of Mograt – leaving several famous boundary inscript­ions close-by at Hajar al-Marwa. They destroyed the earlier native capital of Kerma and founded new settlements and cult centres with Egyptian temples. One of these, dedicated to the Egyptian god Amun, was at Jebel Barkal.


Hajar al-Marwa (photo: Claudia Näser)

While the Egyptian boundary inscriptions can be found at the Hajar al-Merwa, some 20km upstream from Mograt on the eastern bank of the Nile, no remains showing an Egyptian presence have yet been discovered on the island itself.


Kerma period

ink horizontal line

About 4500 – 3500 years ago


Deffufa at Kerma

Known as the ‘first African civilisation’ south of Egypt, Kerma culture is famous for its capital with a defensive system, palaces, the enigmatic deffufa and the royal cemetery at Kerma above the Third Cataract. Smaller Kerma settlements and cemeteries are known from all over the Middle Nile region.

Between 4000 and 3750 years ago the Egyptians conquered the Lower Nubian Nile Valley up to the Second Cataract. They built a chain of fortresses there, but later had to leave due to problems back home.


Kerma grave in a cemetery near al-Karmal (photo: Reinhold Schulz)

On Mograt, the Kerma people built their graves on the plateaus and ridges overlooking the arable land near the river. Their grave markers, mostly small cairns or rings of heaped stones, can be seen everywhere on the island until today. This means we know that Kerma people lived on Mograt, although we have not yet found any settlements of this period.

We are excavating one large Kerma cemetery near the village of al-Karmal. Many of the tombs are still intact – with a single burial in them, but with only very few grave goods. Pottery was often deposited near the cairns or stone rings.


New Stone Age (Neolithic)

ink horizontal line

About 7000 – 4500 years ago


Neolithic grave, Kadaru (photo: Cornelia Kleinitz)

The youngest phase of the Stone Age is characterised by the transition to farming and animal husbandry. People planted crops and herded sheep, goats and cattle. They lived in small villages and buried their dead – sometimes with rich grave goods – in cemeteries away from the settlements.


Neolithic potsherd from a site on Mograt (photo: Annett Dittrich)

Sites of the New Stone Age are frequent on Mograt; they can be identified from the pottery characteristic for this period. Most of these sites are situated in the island’s interior. We have found places where people lived, processed food, prepared tools and collected raw material. So far, we have only identified one cemetery of this period, by accident – as it is situated on the site of a later Kerma cemetery.


Middle Stone Age (Mesolithic)

ink horizontal line

About 9000 – 7000 years ago


Mesolithic pottery (photo: Mathias Lange)

In this era, people lived by hunting and gathering. But they were very good at exploiting the natural resources and started to stay in one place for at least part of the year. They buried their dead in their settlements and in the first cemeteries known from the Nile valley. Another important change in this period was the invention of pottery.


Shells and stone tools on a site on Mograt (photo: Claudia Näser)

We have identified several places on Mograt where people of the Middle Stone Age lived or worked. While some of these sites are situated in the island’s interior, others are closer to the river. So far, no burials from this time have been discovered on Mograt.


Old Stone Age (Palaeolithic)

ink horizontal line

About 1,500,000 – 9000 years ago


Palaeolithic stone core from which tools were produced (photo: Mathias Lange)

This is the oldest phase in human history. People – early humans – lived in small groups and moved around while gathering and hunting for food. They worked tools from stone, bone and probably wood.


Excavation of a Palaeolithic site on Mograt with stone tools visible in the trench (photo: Mathias Lange)

The oldest finds on Mograt date from after 250,000 years ago. These are stone tools, still lying in the places where they had been made or used by early humans. Remarkably, they can be found in many sites in the desert areas of the island’s interior.